The Joy of Packing

Of the things I need to do before I leave for Azerbaijan, packing is easily the most daunting task.  Other than load my suitcases, I must wrap up my loose ends and get out of my apartment, both of which are easy.  Packing is the problem.

I have broken things into three categories: Clothes, Sanity, and Work.  The clothes are self-evident (but i should mention that it is difficult to pack for both a hot summer and a cold winter).  What is really proving to be a challenge is the Sanity category.  Here, I’m including things like my little chess set, my ipod, laptop, camera, books, coffee (and french press), soccer balls, cards, and things of that nature.  I feel as though I will have a lot of downtime, so I want to be prepared for it.  I remember some of the tougher times in Korea had to do with the fact that sometimes there just wasn’t anything exciting to do.

The other category is things I’ll need in the classroom.  Glue sticks?  Will they be available?  I have no idea, which makes preparation difficult.  Too bad I only have four days to figure it out.

The amount of time left makes packing an obstacle one that can be overcome, but it’s such an important thing to do, I don’t want to mess it up.  Maybe I just need to say ‘to hell with it’ and toss some stuff in a suitcase and see where I stand.

Leave a Reply

