bogarting the deveploment

Having spent the weekend in Baku, the oil-boom capital of Azerbaijan, it’s easy to realize that this country is coming up.  Construction sites are literally everywhere.  There is a feeling that Baku is stepping up to become a first class city.

I have a little bit of an issue with this because I live out in the country, where some of the basics are still not available.  I see the construction going on it Baku, and I can’t help but think about the fact that many cities and villages in Azerbaijan are still without 24 hour gas or electricity.

To be fair, there is a gap between urban and rural in any (every) country.  And I’m sure the issue that I brought up above is much more complicated than I am portraying it to be.  Still, as the old adage goes, societies are judged on well they take care of their neediest citizens.  I keep this thought in mind as I work here, often with people who don’t have access to many resources, and back in America, where the ‘have-nots’ and ‘don’t-gets’ are left behind in the greater narrative of the country.

But as the wealth of Baku trickles out to the other regions (states, provinces, etc) of Azerbaijan, I wonder what this country will be like. 

Leave a comment