Crazy Frogs

I gotta get something off my chest.  The noise pollution here is killing me.  Usually, I can let it go, but lines must be drawn.  Admittedly, little background noises have always bothered me for some strange reason.  To give you an idea of what I mean, I don’t buy metal coat hangers because I don’t like the sound they make when they clang around in the closet.  But here, this seem to be exacerbated.  There’s a few things that really push my buttons in this arena lately.

The first one that’s really been bothering me is cell phones.  People here seem to really pride themselves in having a new expensive phone.  A friend was telling me about some new phone that he wanted to buy because it had a 5 megapixel camera on it.  He said his was only three.  I asked him what a megapixel was and he had no idea.  Still, five is better than three though.  On multiple occasions, for entertainment on a bus or on the street, I’ve heard people just go through all their ringtones.  Over and over again.  Similarly, a lot of phones have speakers on them, which is the preferred way to listen to MP3s rather than headphones.  It’s mostly young boys, but people just listen to their own little phones on the bus, in the street, or just about anywhere that people can see them and think “that guy has a phone.  he’s cool.”

While the phone thing has been bothering me since day one, the other two have to do with the house i’ve been living in for the last two months.

I didn’t realize it when i moved in, but I live on a relatively busy street.  Everyday at 7o’clock sharp, a guy drives by my house on a motorcycle with a little cart on the back.  This would’t be so bad, but there is absolutely no muffler on this bike, and you can hear it coming from a mile away.  To boot, there’s a speed bump outside my window, so I can hear his slow down for the bump, and then rev it back up again.  Everyday at 7 o’clock I think about what I can do to sabatoge this guy’s bike.

The last one is going to make me invest in a pair of ear plugs, because the frogs that live in the ditch by my room are going to drive me crazy.  I would guess that these guys are nocturnal, because they were going at it all night last night, but then again, they ribbit all day too.  It’s crazy loud, and it’s really steady.  It woke me up at 4 a.m. last night.  Imagine that.  A frog that is so loud it wakes you up when you’re sleeping.  Again, I was laying in bed last night thinking about how I could shut them up.  When the idea of pouring a ton of bleach into the ditch to kill them all, I decided that maybe I should just put my ipod on.  If I go crazy here, it will absolutely be beacuse of those frogs.  I didn’t see that coming.

2 responses to “Crazy Frogs

  1. Hilo has a similar problem with loud frogs. Apparently the little guys have an aversion to caffeine; it causes them to die. Anyway, glad to see you’re doing well. I’ve beem monitoring your activities via this blog. Trail Blazers got the #13 pick in the draft lottery.

    -Kellen

  2. Take it easy buddy…yeah, I understand your situation; meditation might help- I use this to maintain: “Anger ruins joy; steals the goodness of my mind; forces my mouth to say terrible things. Overcoming anger brings peace of mind; leads to a mind without regret”

Leave a Reply

