Cavity Free!

I know there’s probably only mild interest in this, but I don’t have any cavities.  At least I didn’t get any in my first year in the Peace Corps.  My dentist visit was part of my mid-service medical check up.  Everything is all good in that department, too.

Along with the medical stuff, we had a Mid Service Conference that brought in all the volunteers left in AZ5 (there were 55 when we arrived, now there are 44).  We went over lessons learned from our first year, how to make the projects we are working on sustainable in our second year, and things to think about as we consider our post-PC lives.

Honestly, it’s a subject I’ve been thinking about a lot lately.  I still have no idea what I’m going to do when I get done here, and if I thought I did know, it would be foolish to be closed to the opportunities that might come about in the next year.  Between grad schools, jobs, and whatever else people do after the Peace Corps, I’m still completely lost.  I’m giving my self a couple of more months to get a concrete idea so I can work toward something during my final months here.

2 responses to “Cavity Free!

  1. Congratulations on the successful dental examination!
    Anything we can learn from the 11 ET?

  2. That’s a good question. Just going through some of the reasons that people left, I’d say that being open-minded comes first and foremost. There have been plenty of times that I’ve questioned my value here, as well as my happiness. They are valid thoughts, but I always come back to the fact that no matter where I am and what I’m doing, be it in America or elsewhere, I am going that have the same problems. I think that the peace corps experience tends to put these issues under the magnifying glass.

    Some other folks had to go home because of medical problems, while others really shouldn’t have come in the first place. There is a wide range of reasons that people go home before their two years are up, and I think that you can’t point a finger at a specific reason for any of them. If you truly are committed to this experience, then there won’t be a problem.

    The AZ4 groups are about to leave, and almost everyone I’ve talked to said they’ve considered ET’ing, but now that they are about to go home, all of them are happy they stayed. Think of the finish line, and how you will feel when you cross it.

Leave a Reply

