bit of an update

I don’t want to let too much time pass between, posts, but there isn’t a wole lot going on right now in Ujar.

Classes are classes.  I’ve been teaching younger kids this year, and it’s been really fun.  A lot of these kids can’t read, especially the English alphabet (i teach in a russian-language school), so almost everything I do is verbal, which agrees with my language learning philosophy a lot more than writing vocabulary on a blackboard does.

My English Language Resource Room is slooooowly coming together.  I could have probably wrapped up this project in a week in America, but it’s been months here, and I’d say we’re nearly halfway done.  We’ve gotten books and a bookshelf, and have identified where we’ll purchase our other materials, but things simply take longer to do here.  It’s a fact of being a PC volunteer, and it doesn’t bother me nearly as much as it used to.

Leave a Reply

