Snow 2.0

Winter is upon us.  My last winter in Azerbaijan has started out with a bang.  Last year at this time, I was still living with a host family, so the threat of snow and frozen pipes didn’t really threaten me, as much as someone else who could take care of it.  Yesterday,  it was so cold that my water had frozen up and I had to wait until the afternoon before I could wash my dishes (not that I really wash them that regularly anyway).  But this morning, as I saw the first few snowflakes fall the the ground, I couldn’t help but think about what a logistical nightmare it’s going to present.

1.  Frozen water equals: no shower, and a much more difficult process for all the things that require water, which as it turns out, is all things clean.

2.  Freezing cold.  Even with my gas heater on all day, I still ahve to wear a hat, big socks, and a coat inside.  It makes typing difficult, as it does juggling.

3.  Dirty roads.  The snow isn’t always pretty here.  It  builds up on the roads, melts, and then turns to mud, which manages to get everywhere.  See bullet point 1 for why this is a problem.

4.  Cold teacher, cold students.  As I teach my classes during  the winter, I keep a hat and my bit coat on at all times.  Who can teach in this environment?  Well.  I can, but it makes it a lot moredifficult for the students to pay attention all day, which I can totally understand.

4 responses to “Snow 2.0

  1. …you don’t wash your dishes regularly. Please tell me you do not have a cockroach problem…

  2. “Censorship reflects a society’s lack of confidence in itself. It is a hallmark of an authoritarian regime.”
    Potter Stewart

    🙂

  3. Nice post. I read one of yours a couple of months ago. Always interesting reading. I don’t know where Ujar is, but I will google it. My daughter is in Aghsu. She just arrived there about two weeks ago. Your comments about mastering Azeri would make her feel better, so I might cut and paste them into an email to her (if that’s okay). Keep up the good work and best wishes for a happy holiday season!

  4. löki: very cute.

    Gary: of course it’s alright. ag-su isn’t too far away from me at all. thanks for reading and happy holidays to you too.

Leave a Reply

