Twitter

Without doing too much background, new groups of PCVs come to Azerbaijan every year.  That means that there’s always a new group, and there’s always one that’s got a year’s worth of experience.  I’ve gone from the new group to ‘veteran status’ over the past few months.

One thing that used to crack me up about the old group, who has been back in America for about 6 months, is that a lot of them had never seen a Wii.  I had put my fair share of time in on Wii Tennis and Zelda, not to mention Wario Ware.  Wii is a hit, and everyone knows it.  The idea that one could just be yanked out of pop culture for two years seemed funny to me, until I realized that it’s going to happen to me as well.

I think twitter might be my group’s Wii.  I think I get what it is, but I have no idea how people are using it in America.  It’s got some cool potential, but then again, it could just be another thing to pass some time.  I guess I’ll see when I get back to America.

‘Til then, here’s my twitter page.  holler.

Also, the ultimate technological deficiency I’m going to have when I get back to America is the first time I see an iphone.  I’ve never seen one before.  I think i’m going to freak out when I see one, which is really going to weird everyone out because they will have been out for two years

6 responses to “Twitter

  1. Hello Nick, I would like to talk to you privately.
    Thanks,

    Neni

  2. wow. that’s weird. who’s nick?

  3. hey Jeff,

    if any of the new trainee candidates ask you how to chat to a local person, feel free to refer them to my group, “Volunteer Network (not official)” in facebook. There is a part says: “Post a question to LCFs”. here is the link:

    http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=7705&post=33498&uid=32832879038#/group.php?gid=32832879038

    Thanks,
    Elshad

  4. Jeff,

    Twitter is something interesting(not the service itself, but the “stream” of information that status updates provide on it, facebook, friendfeed, etc.) The thing is that you can use it in almost endless ways, as you see fit. There is some arguments that the “statusphere” will eventually overtake the “blogosphere,” but we’ll have to see about that: http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/03/10/are-blogs-losing-their-authority-to-the-statusphere/

    As for the iphones, they are sweet(I picked one up last year). Put some money aside from your readjustment cash to pick one up, you won’t regret it. If you’re going to freak out when you see an iphone, what are you going to do when Apple releases the first touchscreen netbook later this year?(http://www.macrumors.com/2009/03/10/more-sources-point-to-a-touchscreen-apple-netbook-in-2009/)

    Cheers,
    Sachin.

Leave a Reply

