6 Months Left

Today is a big milestone.  Not only does this post commemorate having spent 21 months in Azerbaijan, but this is also my 100th post.  Based on a totally unscientific calculation, I’ve got that to mean that I’ve written about a post a week during my time here.  Sounds about right to me.  Keeping this blog has been fun, especially when I hear back from the folks who read it.  I’d like to write more often, but there hasn’t been much to say, really.

Over the past month, I had been really focused on our fund raising effort for ABLE Camp, which I’ve mentioned before.  We submitted two big grant proposals at the beginning of March, and now we’re just waiting to hear back from them.  It’s a big hurry-up-and-wait game, because we had several people working hard on everything for a while, and now there’s nothing we can really do.

Since I had been focusing on ABLE so much, I haven’t really been putting a lot of energy in to teaching.  I don’t really have much of a problem with this, because things were starting to get a little monotonous around the classroom.  Still, I’ve only got less than three months with these kids in the classroom before I’m out of here.  Now that the ABLE stuff is done (for now) I want to put a nice effort in to teaching and finish well.

52My birthday was last week, which was kind a big deal.  My conversation club totally surprised me with cake and balloons.  Kids were running up to me all day and telling me happy birthday.  I had a few people come over the weekend afterward, and we grilled up some meat and hung out on my porch.  I’m 25 now, which makes me feel like I need to take out a mortgage or something.  Here’s a picture from a moldy little kebab spot at the bazaar.

A preview of “5 Months Left”:

  • My mom is coming to visit.  I think it’s going to be a blast.  She’ll be leaving on the day before my 5 Months post, so I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say about that.
  • Big holiday coming up this month.  I wrote about Novruz last year, and once again, it’s still a holiday.  I’m hoping to be doing some traveling, so I’ll be able to show some pictures.
  • We should hear back about our grant proposals.  Yikes.
2 responses to “6 Months Left

  1. Yo Jeff! Twenty five? What happened to that guy that I knew from Crab flats? I know a sweet lady that lives in Ashland that can get you into a mortgage real cheep. Only five months left…I’m sure that when the end nears your going to look back and ask your self where the time went. I’m starting to ask myself that question I’ve been here at the lab for going on 19 years now and I have no idea how that happened. It’s been a rocky road but has gotten a lot better in the last year since I got a new boss. You must be looking forward to getting home. I’m sure it will take some adjustment….it’s all one earth but boy can it be different worlds. At least you will be coming back to a different USA. Although the economy is in the trash we finalllllllllly have a new administration that is willing to talk and not shoot first. I think you will find in real different. I do. Well I need to get to work. You take care and I look forward to hearing all the stories.

  2. Amen, Unca Jimmy!

    Yes…Happiest Birthday greetings. I must say that I have read your blogs far more faithfully than I have responded. I really admire the effort and have thoroughly enjoyed them. Best wishes for the 4th quarter.

Leave a Reply

