1 Month in Azerbaijan

One month from today, I’ll leave Azerbaijan for good.  It’s such a dramatic milestone, “One Month Left,” but the feeling of having a month left isn’t as wild as I might have pictured it.  In fact, it’s pretty similar to how I felt when I had a month before I left for the Peace Corps.

I was finishing college, with a few last minute things to do before I walked away for good.  There were some great people that I wanted to spend some time with before I left, and as important as they were to me, I was eager to move on to the next step.  I also remember having the seriousness of the situation hit me in waves that entered in and out of my consciousness.  It would range from realizing that there were plenty of people that I wouldn’t see again to the frightening prospect of knowing that I’m going to be completely out of my comfort zone for the next few months, if not years.  The situation is strikingly similar now.

I’ve got three or four things to do left in the Peace Corps depending on how you count them.  I really want to say goodbye to the people of Ujar who have been good to me, but how far do I go?  If I don’t see my butcher again, do I go out of my way to see him?  It’s strange to think about.

Just like my time before I left for Azerbaijan, I can’t stop thinking about what I’m getting myself into here.  I was writing an email to a friend last night and had a smile on my face as I wrote about being almost finished and about the trip that I’m going to be taking come September 2nd.

I wish I had more profound things to say about only having one month left in Peace Corps, but it doesn’t seem that special to me right now.  It just seems right.  I remember being in Baku and seeing the last group of volunteers go back home.  I expected something dramatic, but it just felt like the order of the day.  Time to take the next step.

One response to “1 Month in Azerbaijan

  1. The steps that are actually big have a way of occurring at times when you actually didn’t expect them, too. And even the big transitions hit you at completely incongruous times. Weird.

    The US will be glad to have you back, though.

Leave a Reply

